- 1. The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (introductory lecture)
- 2. The earliest settlers of Britain (The Iberians/ The Celts/ The Romans
- 3. The Nordic Invasions: The Angles/ The Saxons and the Jutes
- 4. The Norman Conquest
- 5. The Medieval Age
- 6. The Tudors
- 7. The Stuarts

#### **Books needed:**

An Illustrated History of Britain by David McDowall, Longman, 2006, UK https://www.academia.edu/35047016/An\_Illustrated\_History\_of\_Britain\_pd f

The Kings and Queens of Britain by John Cannon and Anne Hargreaves, Oxford University Press.

**Britian by James O'DRISCOLL.** 

https://www.academia.edu/25719286/ O Driscoll James Britain for Learn ers of English



### Where is the UK?

The UK is situated in the north-west of the European continent between the Atlantic Ocean and the North Sea. It has a total land area of 244,100 square kilometers, of which nearly 99 per cent is land and the remainder land water. From north to south, it is about 1000 km long.

## What is the official name of the UK?

The official name of the UK is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The name refers to the union of what were once four separate nations: England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland.

The United Kingdom is made up of:

**England**: the capital is <u>London</u>

**Scotland**: the capital is Edinburgh

Wales: the capital is <u>Cardiff</u>

**Northern Ireland**: the capital is <u>Belfast</u>

What is the capital city of the UK? It is **London**.

## Why is the whole of Ireland not in the UK?

Before 1922, the UK included Ireland in the definition but when the Irish free state ceased to be part of the union, the title changed to include "Northern Ireland". The Republic of Ireland gained its independence during the war from 1918-1921.

The British Isles: see the map above

The British Isles are in the Northwest of Europe. On their west, we find the Atlantic Ocean and on the east, the North Sea. They are separated from the Continent of Europe by the English Channel.

The British Isles: two great islands exist in this region: Great Britian called "Great" because it is the greatest of the idlands or isles and Ireland as well as many smaller ones such as: <u>The Shetland Islands</u>, the <u>Orkney Island</u>, the <u>Hebrides</u> and the Isle of Man, the Isle of Wight and the Channel Islands.

# The are also two nations in this region: the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

Although some people like to use the world 'Ireland' to refer to either the island or the nation, the nation should properly be called "the Republic of Ireland"

The UK was once three different kingdoms, and people still use the names of the old countries: Scotland (North), England(South) and Wales (West) and also Northern Ireland that is included in the UK.

**Great Britain= England+Scotland+Wales.** 

The UK=GB+ Northern Ireland